Abay Woldu elected TPLF's new chairman

TPLF (Tigray People Liberation Front) elected Abay Woldu and Dr Debretsion Gebremikael as chairman and
deputy chairman, respectively on September 17,2012.

TPLF is one of the four member parties of the Ethiopian ruling party, EPRDF ( Ethiopian peoples revolutionary democratic front). Founded in 1975, TPLF was led by the late prime minister meles zenawi since 1989.

The 45 member TPLF council conducted the election on Tuesday. However, it appears that the council didn't elect new member to fill the vacant seats in the TPLF and EPRDF executive committees previously held by meles zenawi.

Abay Woldu, the newly elected chairman of TPLF, has been serving as dep. chair of TPLF and president of Tigray region since 2010. Abay Woldu joined TPLF in the late 1970s and has served as member of the executives committee of EPRDF and TPLF since 2000.

He was administrator of central zone of Tigray from 1992-2000. he became member of the regional government's cabinet and head of the region's agricultural bureau from 2000 to2010. he doubled as a vice president of the region after 1998 until his election as president.

Debretsion Gebremikael, the newly elected deputy chairman of TPLF, joined the TPLF executive committee and is minister of communication and information technology since 2010.

He joined TPLF during the days of armed struggle and has served as head of various departments of interior ministry during the transitional government period from 1992-1995.

since the mid - 1990s, Debretsion served as zone administrator and cabinet member of Tigray region government, then as director of information and communication technology development agency ( ICTDA) of the federal government .

His agency was upgraded to a ministry in 2010 when he was appointed as its minister. Debretsion is member of the executive commitee of EPRDF and TPLF currently.


Commenting disabled.

Related Articles